Stuarts‎ > ‎

Queen Anne and the Acts of Union 1707


Anne was Mary II’s sister and came to the throne on 8th March 1702.

Her nickname was ‘Brandy Anne’ because she liked drinking French brandy. 

She had eighteen children, all of whom died before her.

England and Scotland had shared a monarch since 1603 when King James VI of Scotland inherited the English throne to become King James I of England. Although described as a Union of the Crowns at the time, there were in fact two separate crowns resting on the same head. The one monarch had basically ruled two separate states with two different sets of laws.

This became a problem when Queen Anne had no children to succeed her as Scotland and England could then both choose different monarchs.

The Acts of Union which took effect from 1st May 1707 solved this problem by officially joining the Kingdom of England and the Kingdom of Scotland into a single, united kingdom named Great Britain which could only have one ruler.

On this date, the Scottish Parliament and the English Parliament united to form the Parliament of Great Britain, based in the Palace of Westminster in London. The acts are therefore also known as the Union of the Parliaments.

Queen Anne died on the 1st August 1714.